top of page

R&J.

The night two days ago was spent so well. I finally had the chance to visit one of my most childhood-memorable places - KLPAC in Sentul. Once a young drummer who used to perform there (and also watch my coaches do so), my purpose on that night was a total different experience. I got to watch a theatre play for the first time ever, so let it be Shakespeare's R&J.

As you guessed it, R&J stands for 'Romeo & Juliet'. The spark is that this play is not just some ordinary 'Romeo & Juliet' where a guy & a girl is wanted in order to form such a histrionic couple. Both Romeo & Juliet are played by males, and that's the best part. Those intense moments where soul kisses & carnal movements occur between the couple are just so awakening to the eye. Definitely not a scene you would see every day, week, or even months. At the same time, you can't speak as if their actions are wrong. Every wave & touch are done in such a subtle manner which pulls you into pity and support.

Personally, I find myself more melted towards Arief Hamizan's (aka Romeo) acting. He was perfectly into character & even when he isn't involved in scenes, he still looks conscious about his invisible presence as a spectating student. Aaron Al-Fateh also did a fantastic job of playing Juliet, maybe it's because of the unacquainted sight of Juliet's gender which led me to mild perplexity.

Don't get me wrong though. I own a huge support to the LGBT community, as half of me's able to relate.

Watching my Improvisation lecturer, Qahar Aqilah perform in the play is another amazing experience I gained that night. It sold me a totally different view of him compared to how he acts in class every Monday, also topping up my sense of respect towards him. What really shook me was the expression of surprise & his act of anger, I felt a genuine 'wow' while watching him entertain the audience. It threw me an alarming note that I'm currently learning my way to a chance of being who he is now, living the dream on the stage.

More shows to come, but R&J was spectacular, being one of the most riveting plays I ever watched.

Photo by Ridzuan Rashid

Photo from dailyseni.com

RECENT POSTS.

Categories

"Don't set yourself on fire

to keep others warm."

bottom of page